Stravinsky: The Soldier’s Tale

Stravinsky: The Soldier’s Tale

The 27th Nafplion Festival 2018 was completed with great success. Manifest, as a festival sponsor and fanatic cultural events conducting spirit and soul, attended on Saturday 7th of July with clients, friends and colleagues, the historic Palamidi, enjoying the the Soldier’s Tale. “L’Histoire du soldat” of Igor Stravinsky was written in 1918, at the height of World War II in Switzerland by the great Russian composer  (1882-1971) in collaboration with the Swiss poet and novelist Charles- Ferdinand Ramuz (1878-1947) and first plaid on stage 100 years ago.

L’Histoire du soldat (The Soldier’s Tale) is a theatrical work “to be read, played, and danced” (“lue, jouée et dansée”) by three actors and one or several dancers, accompanied by a septet of instruments. The piece was conceived by Igor Stravinsky and Swiss writer C. F. Ramuz based on a Russian folk tale (The Runaway Soldier and the Devil) drawn from the collection of Alexander Afanasyev.

The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain. The music is scored for a septet of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet (often played on trumpet), trombone, and percussion, and the story is told by three actors: the soldier, the devil, and a narrator, who also takes on the roles of minor characters. A dancer plays the non-speaking role of the princess, and there may also be additional ensemble dancers.

The original French text by Ramuz has been translated into English by Michael Flanders and Kitty Black and into German by Hans Reinhart.

Director & Translator: Christoforos Christofis
Music Direction: Raphael Pylarinos
Choreographer: Ersi pitta
Art Direction – Scenography – Costumes : Erietta Vordoni
Assistant Director : Panagiotis Georgoulas

Narrator: Katerina Didaskalou
Devil: Alberto Fais
Soldier: Panagiotis Georgoulas
Dancer: Elissavet Delaka

Piano: Vicky Stylianou
Clarinet: Merkourios Karalis
Violin: Yaroslav Tokaref

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!